Cornucopia!

Since my last post at the end of April, I’ve been slowly getting my strength back after the plate was taken out of my leg.  What I didn’t expect was that it would be like having a crutch kicked away, so it’s taken time to get back to normal and I’m still not riding yet.

However I haven’t been able to resist going mushrooming, as we’ve had torrents of rain and warm spells in between.  One day I had a quick look in the woods, without taking a knife or basket and the girolles were practically leaping out of the undergrowth into my T-shirt-serving-as-an-apron!

The growth in the garden has been so lush, we’ve had difficulty keeping up, particularly with the box hedging and topiary, and the blowsy roses have bowed over full of raindrops and dropped their petals far too soon.  It’s been a month of rainbows and deep indigo skies then all too brief periods of warm sunshine when you could almost hear the grass growing.

But the project which has kept us busy is restarting the half-finished renovation of a small barn which we had planned to turn into a “gîte” – holiday accommodation – eventually.  Plans were kick-started by a threatened visit by my husband’s niece and her three friends coming over from Australia to “do” Europe and drop in on us en route, which has spurred us on to get it as ready as we can by the time they arrive.

So most things (including the blog!) are on hold at the moment as we get our hands thoroughly dirty yet again and enjoy getting our teeth into an all-consuming project.  Hopefully there will be photos to show for our efforts soon.

The horses are content making inroads into the spring grazing, a few metres only per day.  Aly has been having problems recently with his near hind leg.  No sign of swelling or heat in the leg, hoof or sole and our best guess was a problem in the stifle area, which the vet also suggested.  So he’s been having syringes full of bute and applesauce and is much improved…

Pom is straining to get going again!!

And the Pie … just keeps on shedding!


As I’ve been feeling so very tired, I found myself thinking of Madeleine Kahn’s song, from “Blazing Saddles”;  although, in her case it’s the men in her life that are wearing her down (definitely not my problem!).  However, I still found it amusing enough to include here……

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uai7M4RpoLU&feature=fvwrel

Once life gets back to normal and I’m riding again, there will be more horse news!

About cavaliereattitude

Englishwoman, transplanted to SW France in '86, blogging - with a large dose of humour and self-deprecation - about life with my husband and our horses, the never-ending renovation of an ancient and crumbly stone farmhouse and the attempt to carve a beautiful garden and productive pasture out of a woodland wilderness.........
This entry was posted in Gardening, Horses, Living in France, Musings, Riding, Rural Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cornucopia!

  1. I’m convinced that heaven is where you live!

    Like

  2. I just hope I don’t have to work so hard when (if!) I ever get there!! 😉

    Like

  3. ptigris213 says:

    Looks to me as if Pom is insisting he is about to DIE, just lay down and DIE, unless he has a treat (which he knows is in your pocket)…
    Good to hear you’re on the mend, up and walking and picking wild mushrooms. Oh my gosh, they look fabulous. I think your girasoles are the same thing as our chantrelles. if so, they’re fabulous when sauted in a little butter and then blended in with scrambled eggs. Oh my gosh.
    Whomever keeps your lawn so neat and tidy needs to come to my place and knock some semblance of order into the (ahem)…”Lawn”” that fronts my house.

    I love the stonework on your walls, your barns, etc. Not to mention the riot of flowers!

    Like

    • Yup – I think you guessed right about Pom and the treat scenario! Yes, girolles are the local equivalent to chanterelles, ooh and great with eggs, scrambled or omletted (also in chicken casseroles and risottos, mmm). I leave them to sweat down in the oven and they freeze a treat – luckily, as some years there’s a glut then other years are too dry.
      Sadly the lawn only looks that good when it’s freshly mown and not seen in close up! 😉 This year we’ve got bamboo and wistaria seedlings competing with all the other weeds – left uncut it would be jungle in a fortnight!! The flowers, though, are just lovely at the moment, and the scent … glorious!

      Like

  4. Hi Great to hear from you, I was hoping you weren’t absolutely knocked back after your surgery.
    Lucky you with all those mushrooms – I looooove mushrooms! Your place looks gorgeous, and the barn project sounds like a lot to take on. Best of luck with it!

    Like

    • Thanks Martine! I do hope you’re still taking it gently with your wrist – Le Big Trek notwithstanding!! I’m glad you’ve carried on blogging and not at all surprised you’re planning a move to France. Great pity it’s the South East and not the South West you’re drawn to …. although there’s still time to reconsider 😀 (think of the mushrooms!).

      Like

  5. Good to hear from you and glad the recuperation is proceeding. Sounds like a spectacular season, and those mushrooms!! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you Anna! If you were a bit closer I’d be happy to share a mushroom omelette! Sorry to hear you lost a friend recently – I never fail to enjoy your blog, whatever the mood.
      Hope mine will be more upbeat (or have hoofbeats, at least) soon 🙂

      Like

  6. Twohorses says:

    Oh your garden looks gorgeous! I’m trying to convert some of the marshy-and-covered-in-rushes ground around our house into a garden, but so far without noticeble success. Someone suggested raised beds, but I think I’d have to raise the entire garden…

    Rehab takes a disappointingly long time, doesn’t it? Hope you’ll be back in the saddle soon!

    Like

  7. Many thanks for the kind thoughts TH(+1)! Thinking about the kind of land you have and the horrible midge problem – God I really felt for you and Cassie in the last post, Pom’s a terrible sweet-itcher, given half a chance – raising beds and terracing close to the house and planting with some of the fly-repellent shrubs that will tolerate the, er, slightly wetter climate, might well help. God, listen to me – sounds as if I half know what I’m talking about, not 😉 but whoever made the suggestion may be on to something…. of course all these things are time consuming and costly, but as I remember you are a talented artist (those beautiful horse sculptures of yours in an older post were very impressive,) so I should think you’d easily rise to the design challenge 🙂 BTW, really enjoyed the clicker posts!

    Like

  8. What a beautiful garden! It’s been a while i didn’t see a beautiful picture as you did.
    I also have some horses in belgium, they are in a very good shape thanks of my parents who offer me a big ground… but still, nothing compares to yours!

    your flowers are just amazing!
    Btw, we have some gites and bed & breakfast in belgium, don’t hesitate to browse our website… you might think about having some rest in belgium… nobody knows 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much, that was such a lovely comment – I’m very flattered! I will look at your website; Belgium is a wonderful country, especially for horses, which I would love to revisit! When our gîte is fully finished I hope we can accommodate a house/horsesitter and finally return to travelling more in Europe again. I hope your horses are thriving and your gîtes/b & b are prospering! 🙂

      Like

  9. Katie says:

    I’ve finally had a chance to check in with your blog. Congratulations on getting the plate out, but I’m sorry the recovery is difficult. Your garden is spectacularly beautiful and I love the pictures of the horses. Not to mention the mushrooms. Here’s hoping that you’re feeling better already.

    Like

    • Thank you for your generous comments, Katie. The bonus of the soggier years is a lush garden and mushrooms aplenty …. though I find myself wishing I had access to an indoor school! But, all things in their time; I’ve got to get back on the horse first. I have to say your fight back to fitness from your back injury and determination to carry on riding, training and blogging have been a great inspiration when I’ve been flagging. My answer to challenges is all too often to slink back out into the garden, where I feel, even if it’s illusory, slightly more in control !

      Like

  10. Katie says:

    Your garden is so beautiful. I, too, love gardening, but seem to have no time to pursue it these days and I miss it. With gardens, sometimes letting things go a bit creates beautiful surprises. The same is true of riding horses, I think. I’m looking forward to hearing about your newest adventures with Pom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

